<u> Drakes Huddersfield Cricket League</u>

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING MINUTES

Wednesday 4th December 2013

In the Chair: The President - Donald Earnshaw Esq.

Other Officers Present: The Chairman, Executive Secretary, Match & Registration Secretary, Finance Secretary, Disciplinary Secretary and Child Welfare, Trophies & Facilities Secretary.

Clubs: All member Clubs were present.

Apologies: The Administration Secretary and Vice President Roger France.

The President welcomed everyone to the Annual General meeting.

The minutes

The minutes of the AGM held on the 5th December 2012 were taken as read, approved as a true record and signed by the

There were no matters arising from those minutes.

Application for re-election to the League:

A letter from Paddock Cricket Club applying for re-election to the League had been received as per Rule L7 (f), and was unanimously approved by the meeting.

Result of the voting on the Proposed Rule Amendments for 2014:

In the absence of the Administration Secretary the Executive Secretary announced the results of the recorded votes of the member Clubs on the Rule Amendment Proposals to come into force for the 2014 season. Only 33 of the 34 member Clubs votes on the 34 proposed amendments, with only the following 7 passed due to receiving the required 2/3rds majority.

Amendments: - 28 (Addition to Rule L4, Minimum Standards); 30 (Rule L13 e); 31 a & 31 b (Rule L4 b); 32 (Rule L7 b); 33 (Addition to Rule L8) and 34 (Rule C4 e). A complete list of the voting is published below:

Proposal	For	Against									
1	6	27	10	3	30	19	6	27	28	25	8
2	9	24	11	9	24	20	5	28	29	14	19
3	10	23	12	2	31	21	3	30	30	22	11
4	4	29	13	3	30	22	7	26	31a	27	6
5	5	28	14	5	28	23	10	23	31b	24	9
6	1	32	15	5	28	24	13	20	32	23	10
7	2	31	16	8	25	25	10	23	33	27	6
8	4	29	17	10	23	26	16	17	34	29	4
9	2	31	18	13	20	27	6	27			

RED = failed; GREEN = passed

Annual Financial Report:

The financial statement for the Financial Year Ending October 31st 2013, which had been distributed with the AGM agenda, was presented by the Finance Secretary,. He firstly thanked Craig Stratford of Simpson Wood Accountants, for assisting in the preparation and carrying out the audit of the accounts. He gave a verbal report to the meeting in which reference was made to the change of fortune over the previous year on the Income and Expenditure, with a surplus for the year of some £3 085.00. He put this mainly down to the weather which helped with increased takings on the gates, and also the fact that we received the sponsorship for the Sykes Cup which was lacking last year. This leaves us with the Balance Sheet having assets standing at £32 623.00. The main feature of this is the Sundry Debtors and Sundry Creditors, which are monies that are owed to and by the League, with both standing at nil at the end of the year. The Financial report was accepted and approved by the meeting.

Draws for the Sykes Cup & Paddock Shield Competitions:

The draws were made for the Preliminary Rounds of the Sykes Cup and Paddock Shield Competition, followed by the Draw for the First Round of the Sykes Cup.

The Preliminary Round of the Sykes Cup & Paddock Shield (to be played on Sunday 20th April 2014) are: arrowseldrive.com Sykes Cup Preliminary Round

Fired Up Paddock Shield Preliminary Round

Kirkheaton v Upperthong
Cartworth Moor v Rastrick
Thurstonland v Paddock
Denby Dale v Armitage Bridge
Cumberworth United v Birkby Rose Hill
Denby v Almondbury

Lascelles Hall v Thurstonland Rastrick v Cartworth Moor Almondbury v Cumberworth United Upperthong v Kirkheaton Linthwaite v Denby Birkby Rose Hill v Denby Dale

arrowseldrive.com Sykes Cup 1st Round (to be played on Sunday 4th May 2014)

Lepton Highlanders v Marsden
Cumberworth United/Birkby Rose Hill v Emley Clarence
Denby Dale/Armitage Bridge v Cawthorne
Hoylandswaine v Thurstonland/Paddock
Denby/Almondbury v Moorlands
Golcar v Clayton West
Scholes v Linthwaite
Thongsbridge v Cartworth Moor/Rastrick

Slaithwaite v Shepley
Shelley v Lascelles Hall
Delph & Dobcross v Broad Oak
Almondbury Wes v Skelmanthorpe
Honley v Holmfirth
Kirkburton v Elland
Barkisland v Meltham
Kirkheaton/Upperthong v Hall Bower

The draw for the 1st Round of the Fired-up Corporation Paddock Shield will be made at a later date due to possible venue issues based upon the outcome of the Preliminary rounds of the Sykes Cup.

The Election of Honorary Officers and Executive Members for 2014:

At this point the Chair was taken by the Chairman Trevor Atkinson who announced the nomination of the President, Mr Donald Earnshaw and asked the Council to approve the nomination; Mr Donald Earnshaw was duly elected unanimously. The President then resumed the Chair for the remaining of the meeting.

The Council were asked to approve the nomination of Mr Geoff Crompton to the position of Life Vice-President of the League. The council approved the election unanimously.

The Council were then asked to elect, en-bloc the following Officers:- Chairman, Trevor Atkinson; Executive Secretary, Stephen Sykes; Financial Secretary, Bruce Heath; Administration Secretary, Norman Clee, Disciplinary Officer, Nick Oddy and Child Welfare, Trophies & Facilities Secretary, Roger Peaker. The Officers were duly elected by the Council unanimously.

The Council were then asked to elect the following Club representatives to be members of the Executive Committee: - Les Harrison (Delph & Dobcross); Malcolm Westoby (Elland); Craig McCreadie (Broad Oak, who was nominated by the Executive) and Philip Earnshaw (Co-opted). The Council approved the election unanimously.

The President then thanked the meeting for their attendance and wished all a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.

The next Annual General Meeting will be on Wednesday 3 rd December 2014 at Almondbury Cricket Club - 7.30pm												